One Book, One Community and LASM Discovery Dome

The Louisiana Art & Science Museum’s (LASM) Discovery Dome is coming to Libraries again for a special FREE presentation celebrating this year’s One Book, One Community selection: Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly.

Children of all ages will enjoy Magic Tree House: Space Mission when they travel with Jack and Annie, stars of the Magic Tree House® best-selling children’s book series, as they search for answers to a mysterious riddle they’ve discovered. Viewers will get a peek into the treehouse and follow Jack and Annie on an exciting adventure as they meet a helpful astronomer and an astronaut!

Adults and teens are invited to the Library to watch We Are Stars, the film that explains what we are made of, how the sun was created and how a star is made.

The full Discovery Dome schedule is below:

  • 10 a.m. Monday, March 5, River Center Branch
  • 3:30 p.m. Monday, March 5, Main Library at Goodwood (Adults & teens, We Are Stars)
  • 3 p.m. Tuesday, March 6, Eden Park Branch
  • 3 p.m. Wednesday, March 7, Bluebonnet Regional Branch
  • 3 p.m. Thursday, March 8, Central Branch
  • 5 p.m. Monday, March 12, Jones Creek Regional Branch
  • 10 a.m. Tuesday, March 13, Greenwell Springs Road Regional Branch
  • 3 p.m. Tuesday, March 13, Delmont Gardens Branch
  • 3 p.m. Thursday, March 15, Scotlandville Branch
  • 10:30 a.m. Monday, March 19, Carver Branch
  • 3 p.m. Tuesday, March 20, Baker Branch
  • 3 p.m. Wednesday, March 21, Pride-Chaneyville Branch
  • 3 p.m. Thursday, March 22, Main Library at Goodwood
  • 3 p.m. Monday, March 26, Fairwood Branch
  • 2 p.m. Wednesday, March 28, Zachary Branch

To register, or for more information about these free Discovery Dome events, call the Children’s Room at the Library location directly. Call the Circulation Desk at the Main Library at (225) 231-3740 in reference to the presentation for adults and teens. To learn more about the Library and any of its other free programs, events and resources, visit us online!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *